Five AJHL Players Named to CJHL Prospects Game in Okotoks, AB

CALGARY, Alta. – The Canadian Junior Hockey League, in partnership with the National Hockey League and Hockey Canada, as well as in conjunction with NHL Central Scouting, announced Tuesday the playing rosters for the upcoming CJHL Prospects Game, which will be held on Tuesday, January 22, 2019 at 7:30 p.m. MT at Pason Centennial Arena in Okotoks, Alta.

Five AJHL players will represent the host league – Dylan Holloway (Okotoks Oilers), Luke Bast (Brooks Bandits), Matthew Davis (Spruce Grove Saints), Carter Gylander (Sherwood Park Crusaders), and Zachary Okabe (Grande Prairie Storm).

Each of the players chosen to participate in the CJHL Prospects Game were selected through the efforts of NHL Central Scouting and are currently among the top 40 CJHL prospects heading into the 2019 NHL Draft in Vancouver.

View Rosters

“We at the CJHL extend our congratulations to each of the players on their selection to compete in the 2019 CJHL Prospects Game in Okotoks,” offered CJHL President Brent Ladds.

“We also thank and commend NHL Central Scouting for their significant contributions in helping formalize the Team East and Team West rosters,” added Ladds.

Ticket information

The coaching staffs, on-ice officials as well as the broadcasters for the CJHL Prospects game will be announced in the coming days.


The CJHL Prospects Game is one of the premier Junior A hockey events in the country and provides tremendous exposure for CJHL players to play in front of scouts from all over the hockey world – including the NHL, CHL, NCAA and Canadian universities and colleges.

The President's Cup is awarded to the winning team in the CJHL Prospects Game.

From 2005 until 2008, the event ran as a single game, but starting in 2009 the President's Cup was played as a two-game series where the combined score of the games determined the winner of the title. 

The contest has now gone back to a single-game format along with player testing, both on-ice and off-ice, having been introduced. Since its inception, Team West has won eight times while Team East has come away victorious on five occasions.

All-Time CJHL Prospects Game President's Cup results

2006: West 5 East 4 (Yorkton, Sask.)
2007: West 6 East 2 (Vernon, B.C.)
2008: East 5 West 3 (Winkler, Man.)
2009: East 6 West 3 (Summerside, P.E.I.)
2010: West 8 East 3 (8-1, 0-2) (Winkler, Man.)
2011: East 9 West 2 (2-1 SO, 7-1) (Dauphin, Man.)
2012: West 9 East 6 (4-3 OT, 5-3) (Langley, B.C.)
2013: West 8 East 6 (5-0, 3-6) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2014: East 8 West 4 (4-2, 4-2) (Digby/Yarmouth, N.S.)
2015: West 3 East 2 (Oakville, Ont.)
2016: East 3 West 1 (Surrey, B.C.)
2017: West 4 East 3 (Cornwall, Ont.)
2018: West 5 East 2 (Mississauga, Ont.)
2019: East vs. West (Okotoks, Alta.)

The CJHL Prospects Game will also be streamed live online via