James Vermeulen Commits to Northern Michigan University

The Whitecourt Wolverines are very proud to announce that 18 year old defenceman James Vermeulen has committed to play NCAA with Northern Michigan University for the 2015/16 season.

The 6’1 Spruce Grove native appeared in 56 total AJHL games with 52 of those being with the Whitecourt Wolverines. Vermeulen collected his first career AJHL goal in Okotoks on January 26th 2014, known more for his shutdown style of game, James would finish the season with 2 goals, 4 assists and 65 penalty minutes.

The Northern Michigan Wildcats are a Division I team that are a member of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association. Northern Michigan has won one national title and has made three Frozen Four appearances since there program began in 1976.

“I choose Northern Michigan because of how much it reminded me of my hometown.  Their academic and athletic facilities are top notch, I was just really impressed by the whole program. The Centre of Excellence and the Whitecourt organization will be a huge asset this upcoming season as it will allow for continued development of my on and off ice skills,” said Vermeulen

“We are very proud to see James commit to Northern Michigan,”stated Head Coach and General Manager Joey Bouchard.  “His overall game has progressed immensely throughout the 2013-14 season. He became a great shut down defensemen that played against the other team’s best players every game.  James is a great skating defenseman that gives 110% every practice and game.  He has become an important leader for our hockey club and we look forward to having James return to our team this season and become an elite defensemen in our league.”

James is the eighth player this season from the Wolverines to have a commitment at the University or College Level.  Here are the following committed players:

  •     Colten Mayor (University of Western Ontario)
  •     Jerome Raymond (McGill University)
  •     James Vermeulen (Northern Michigan University)
  •     Ryan Berlin (Princeton University)
  •     Matthew Abt (Rochester Institute of Technology)
  •     Mitch Deacon (Nipissing University)
  •     Sam Lawson (Southern Alberta Institute of Technology)
  •     Gianni Mangone (Arizona State University)