RBC Play Hockey Project Presents the 2012 AJHL Award Finalists

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with The RBC Play Hockey Project, today announced the finalists for the 2012 AJHL League Awards.

Two finalists from each division were selected by the league’s General Managers and Coaches over the past two weeks. The award winners for each of the categories listed below will be determined through voting by the AJHL General Managers and Coaches and announced immediately following the completion of the 2011-2012 AJHL Regular Season.

The Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists for 2011-2012 are as follows:

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy

Peter Quenneville – Sherwood Park Crusaders
Kyle Harris – Lloydminster Bobcats
Matt Wilkins – Brooks Bandits
Corey Scott – Calgary Mustangs

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy

Blake Leask – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Brock Maschmeyer – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
Rhett Holland – Okotoks Oilers
Sam Jardine – Camrose Kodiaks

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy, Presented by Canalta Hotels

Tommy Barszcz – Bonnyville Pontiacs
Dayton Reinboldt – Sherwood Park Crusaders
Anthony Petruzzelli – Brooks Bandits
Robert Hamilton – Okotoks Oilers

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

Kory Chisholm – Lloydminster Bobcats
Carson Cooper – Fort McMurray Oil Barons
Jonathan Lashyn – Camrose Kodiaks
Riley Point – Canmore Eagles

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

Tyler Briggs – Lloydminster Bobcats
Matt Tomkins – Sherwood Park Crusaders
Jay Deo – Calgary Mustangs
Jan Obernesser – Brooks Bandits

Coach of the Year

Brian Curran – Lloydminster Bobcats
Jason McKee – Spruce Grove Saints
Ryan Papaioannou – Brooks Bandits
Boris Rybalka – Camrose Kodiaks

The following League Awards will also be presented at the conclusion of the 2011-2012 AJHL Regular Season.

– Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
– Top Team Goaltenders – Reebok / CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
– Stewy Stewart Memorial – Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
– Pro Hockey Life Cup
– Dave Duchak Trophy

The 2012 AJHL Enerflex Cup Playoffs will begin on Friday, February 24th, 2012. The top seven teams in each Division will qualify for the 2012 AJHL Playoffs. The first place team in each division will receive a bye during the best-of-five First Round Divisional Playoffs.
RBC is committed to helping hockey happen in communities across North America. As a premier partner of Hockey Canada and USA Hockey, RBC is the official sponsor of each country’s Men’s and Women’s National and Olympic hockey teams, the 2011 World Junior Championship, Canada’s national Junior A Championship – RBC Cup, and the Hockey Hall of Fame and will support the development of hockey at all levels. RBC Play Hockey Grants will help grassroots hockey in your community to get started, get better and go further. To apply, visit www.rbcplayhockey.com.
RBC sponsors amateur sport in communities across North America, from grassroots programs to national sport associations and elite-level athletes.