Viterra and AJHL Renew Partnership

The Alberta Junior Hockey League is pleased to announce the extension of its current partnership with Viterra for a two year term.  The AJHL welcomed Viterra as a partner at the start of the 2014-2015 season, which included the creation of the Viterra AJHL Division Championships, Viterra AJHL Volunteer Profile, Viterra Stars of the Game and the Viterra Cup.

“We’re pleased to renew our partnership with the AJHL, and continue our support of junior hockey in Alberta,” said Kyle Jeworski, Viterra’s President and CEO for North America. “Our organizations share many of the same values that fuel our competitive spirit and drive our success, and teaming up with the AJHL is great way for us to give back not only to local teams and their athletes, but through employee and customer appreciation events as well.”

“It is a privilege to align the AJHL Brand with such an influential organization while continuing to build synergies within the communities in which both Viterra and the AJHL operate in,” stated AJHL Commissioner Ryan Bartoshyk. “Viterra's commitment to the Alberta Junior Hockey League complements and supports the Leagues' mission to contribute to the personal and athletic development of our athletes and we look forward to continuing this partnership.”

Each of the 480 AJHL regular season games conclude with the Viterra AJHL Star of the Game Award, which recognizes a player from each team deemed to be that night's top player.  Every time a player is recognized as a Viterra Star of the Game they receive 5 points in the Viterra Star of the Game Standings. Brooks Bandits forward, Austin Plevy, captured the 2015 Viterra Cup with 14 Viterra Star of the Game awards and 70 points.

The AJHL and Viterra are proud to recognize one volunteer from each team through the Viterra Volunteer Profile throughout the season.   One volunteer in both the Viterra AJHL North Division and Viterra AJHL South Division will be presented with the Viterra Salute to Service Award recognizing their service and commitment to the Alberta Junior Hockey League.  The 2014-2015 recipients were Colin Christenson of the Camrose Kodiaks and Bob Troup of the Lloydminster Bobcats.