2015 AJHL Semi-Annual Meeting

The Alberta Junior Hockey League Board of Governors convened for the 2015 Semi Annual Meeting on Saturday, November 21st in Red Deer, AB.  The one-day meeting began with a moment of silence in recognition of the significant contributions of long-time Calgary Canucks Governor, Ken Bracko, who passed away in August 2015.

Discussions held at the meeting included the current economy in Alberta and the impact on the League’s member teams.  The support of corporate sponsors and fans has been influenced by the economic downturn, and AJHL teams appreciate the ongoing support of these partners now more than ever.

The Camrose Kodiaks will host the Annual AJHL Showcase in Camrose, Alberta for the next two years including the 10th annual in 2016.   The Kodiaks received recognition from the scouting community, AJHL teams and fans for a successful event in October 2015 as the new hosts.

A committee has been formed to evaluate the option of an Alberta Junior Hockey League Draft.  The Board of Governors will vote on the concept at the Annual General Meeting in May 2016.

The 2016 AJHL Gas Drive Playoffs will open on March 10th, 2016.  The top team in each division will receive a first round bye.  The Viterra AJHL South Division and Viterra AJHL North Division will playoff to determine a divisional champion at the conclusion of Round Three.  The North Division Champion and the South Division Champion will then compete in the AJHL Gas Drive Cup Final.

Estevan, SK (SJHL) is the host community for the 2016 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup from April 30th – May 8th, 2016.  The Regional Championship will see champions of the AJHL, BCHL, SJHL, and MJHL participate in a five-team tournament along with the host Estevan Bruins.  The Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup Champion and the runner-up will both represent Western Canada at the 2016 RBC Cup National Junior A Championship.

The Lloydminster Bobcats will host the 2016 RBC Cup National Junior A Championship from May 14th – May 21st, 2016. The tournament is set to be one of the largest sporting events ever to come to the Border City!  The host committee is now accepting volunteer applications for all areas of the event. Click here for event information and volunteer opportunities.

The Alberta Junior Hockey League is currently operating under the direction of Chairman Greg Wood and Commissioner Ryan Bartoshyk.  The AJHL Staff consists of Fran Gow (Vice President of Hockey Operations), Charla Flett (Vice-President, Communications), George McCorry (Vice President, Officiating), Dean Laschowski (Video Review Manager), Curtis Nichols (Supervisor of Officials) and Ken Dentzien (Referee Assignor).

The 2016 AJHL Annual General Meeting will take place in Red Deer, Alberta on May 28th, 2016.