Alberta Junior Hockey League Announces 2019-2020 Award Finalists

The Alberta Junior Hockey League, in partnership with RBC, today announced the 2019-2020 League Award Finalists.  The annual awards are presented in six categories, including Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year, Outstanding Defenceman, Top Goaltender, Most Dedicated Player and Coach of the Year.     

The General Managers and Coaches of the Alberta Junior Hockey League selected two finalists from each division through two phases of voting.  The winner for each of the awards will be determined through a final stage of voting and announced at the completion of the AJHL regular season.

2019-2020 Alberta Junior Hockey League Award Finalists

Most Valuable Player – Alberta Old Time Hockey Players Trophy

(2019 Winner ? Dylan Holloway, Okotoks Oilers)

  • Alex Young – Canmore Eagles
  • Jack Works – Okotoks Oilers
  • Lucas Thorne – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Arjun Atwal – Sherwood Park Crusaders

Rookie of the Year – Dick White Trophy, Presented by Canalta Hotels

(2019 Winner ? Carter Savoie, Sherwood Park Crusaders)

  • Brayden Krieger – Brooks Bandits
  • Dylan James – Okotoks Oilers
  • Kabore Dunn ? Fort McMurray Oil Barons
  • Graham Gamache – Spruce Grove Saints

Outstanding Defenceman – W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy, Presented by the Alberta Ford Dealers

(2019 Winner ? TJ Lloyd, Spruce Grove Saints)

  • Tim Rego – Brooks Bandits
  • Eric Parker – Okotoks Oilers
  • Adam Sandstrom – Whitecourt Wolverines
  • Michael Benning – Sherwood Park Crusaders

Top Goaltender – Friends of Alberta Junior Hockey League Trophy

(2019 Winner ? Luke Lush, Drayton Valley Thunder)

  • Pierce Charleson – Brooks Bandits
  • Brady Parker – Okotoks Oilers
  • Vincent Duplessis – Whitecourt Wolverines
  • Carter Gylander – Sherwood Park Crusaders

Most Dedicated Player – Don McNabb Memorial Trophy

(2019 Winner ? Kyle Gordon, Okotoks Oilers)

  • Connor Lyons – Canmore Eagles
  • Marc Pasemko – Okotoks Oilers
  • Joel Ray – Bonnyville Pontiacs
  • Matthew Kinash – Drayton Valley Thunder

Coach of the Year presented by Finning Canada

(2019 Winner – Ryan Papaioannou, Brooks Bandits)

  • Tyler Deis – Okotoks Oilers
  • Clayton Jardine – Camrose Kodiaks
  • Shawn Martin – Whitecourt Wolverines
  • Adam Manah – Sherwood Park Crusaders

The Inter Pipeline AJHL All-Academic Team will be announced on Wednesday, February 12th.  The following League Awards and Scholarships will also be presented at the completion of the regular season.

  • 2019-2020 Viterra All League and All Rookie Team
  • Regular Season Champion – Dave Duchak Trophy
  • Scoring Champion – Ernie Love Trophy
  • Top Team Goaltenders – CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award
  • Viterra Star of the Game Standings Leader – Viterra Cup
  • Finning Canada Powerplay Leader
  • RBC Community Ambassador Award
  • Stewy Stewart Memorial Award – Stewy Stewart Memorial Trophy
  • Viterra Salute to Service Volunteer Award ? North & South Division Recipients
  • Inter Pipeline AJHL Scholarship
  • Finning Canada AJHL Scholarship