Photo by Em Duncan


The Brooks Bandits are winners of the Dave Duchak Trophy as the 2022-23 Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) Regular Season Champions.

The Bandits are six-time winners of the annual award, which pays tribute to the first Commissioner of the Alberta Junior Hockey League – Mr. David Duchak. The Bandits captured the AJHL Title as Inter Pipeline Cup Champions in each of the five previous seasons as winners of the Duchak Trophy (2011-12, 2012-13, 2016-17, 2018-19, 2021-22).

The 2022-23 season was historic for the Brooks Bandits with a record of 53-5-1-1 (W-L-OTL-SOL) and 108 points.  The Bandits will enter the AJHL Record Book tied for second in the category of Most Wins in a Single Season (53) with the 2012-13 Bandits and behind the 2018-19 Bandits (57).  The Bandits will also enter the AJHL Record Book tied for third in the category of Most Points in a Single Season (108).

Brooks led the AJHL with the most goals for (319) and fewest goals against (113) and are now tied for fifth in AJHL history for Fewest Goals Allowed in a Single Season.

Goaltenders Ethan Barwick and Wilson Maxfield are the recipients of the CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award, which is presented annually to the goaltenders of the team with the lowest goals against average (GAA) in the regular season.  The Brooks Bandits allowed just 113 goals against with a 1.88 GAA.

Ethan Barwick (St. Albert, AB) is the 2022-23 Brooks Bandits Most Valuable Player and was a finalist for the AJHL Top Goaltender Award. With a record of 45-4-0-1, the fourth-year Bandit set an AJHL record for Most Wins in a Single Season (45).  Barwick (Lindenwood University) led the league with a 1.88 GAA and seven shutouts and was tied for the top save percentage (.929 SV%).   Rookie goaltender Wilson Maxfield (Kelowna, BC) held a record of 8-1-1-0 for the Bandits and a 1.67 GAA.

This is the fifth CCM Top Team Goaltenders Award for the Brooks Bandits.

The Brooks Bandits, who are the defending Centennial Cup National Junior A Champions, have clinched home ice advantage throughout the playoffs as the 2022-23 regular season champions.   The 2023 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs open on Friday, March 10th.  A complete schedule can be found at