Field Set for Centennial Cup as Bandits Look to Defend National Championship

The field is now set for the 2022 Centennial Cup, presented by Tim Hortons, as the Brooks Bandits continue their quest for a third National Championship in Estevan, SK.

The six-time AJHL Champion Bandits will look to defend their National title in Group A of the 10-team tournament, with preliminary round match-ups against College Francais de Longueuil of the Quebec Junior Hockey League (LHJAAAQ), the Red Lake Miners of the Superior International Junior Hockey League (SIJHL), the Pickering Panthers of the Ontario Junior Hockey League (OJHL) and the host-Estevan Bruins of the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League (SJHL).

All games will be available to stream for free here:

The Bandits games will also be broadcast on Real Country 105.7 FM (CIBQ-FM) with announcers Nathan Crosby and Ken Fleury.

Bandits schedule:

Thursday, May 19 vs Longueuil (7:30 pm)
Saturday, May 21 vs Red Lake (12:00 pm)
Tuesday May 24 vs Pickering (12:00 pm)
Wednesday, May 25 vs Estevan (7:30 pm)

The last time Brooks played Estevan was at the 2016 Western Canada Cup, beating the Bruins 6-4 in the final game of the round robin. The Bandits have never faced Longueuil, Red Lake or Pickering.

The top seed in each pool advances to the Semi-Final on Saturday, May 28. The 2nd and 3rd seed in each pool will play in the Quarter-Final on Friday, May 27. The Championship Game will be played on Sunday, May 29, and will be broadcast on TSN.

Brooks won the AJHL Regular Season Championship with a 52-6-2 record, and went 12-1 in the AJHL Playoffs, winning the South Division Championship over Okotoks and AJHL Championship over Spruce Grove.

The Bandits have now qualified for five National Championships in team history. They previously qualified in 2013 in Summerside, PEI, 2016 in Lloydminster, SK, 2017 in Cobourg, ON and 2019 in Brooks, AB.

Group A:
Brooks Bandits (AJHL)
Estevan Bruins (Host – SJHL)
College Francais de Longueuil (LHJAAAQ)
Red Lake Miners (SIJHL)
Pickering Panthers (OJHL)

Group B:
Flin Flon Bombers (SJHL)
Dauphin Kings (MJHL)
Ottawa Jr Senators (CCHL)
Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL)
Summerside Western Capitals (MHL)