Portage la Prairie, MB to host 2020 National Jr. A Championship

PORTAGE LA PRAIRIE, Man. – Canada’s National Junior A Championship is returning to Portage la Prairie, Man., for the first time since 2015, where the Portage Terriers of the Manitoba Junior Hockey League will play host to the 50th edition of the tournament from May 9-17, 2020 at the 1,675-seat Stride Place.

The 2020 National Junior A Championship represents a partnership between Hockey Canada, the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL), Manitoba Junior Hockey League and Hockey Manitoba.

“We are extremely grateful for the opportunity to bring Canada’s National Junior A Championship back to Portage la Prairie after the success we enjoyed in 2015, and for the continued support from local organizations and community members of our efforts to bring national events to the city,” said Dave Patsack, co-chair of the local host committee. “With just under two years until we welcome the event to Stride Place, preparations will begin immediately to ensure the 2020 National Junior A Championship exceeds expectations for all teams and fans in attendance.”

Canada’s National Junior A Championship will celebrate its 50th anniversary with a return to the province where the original Centennial Cup was created in 1971. It will mark the sixth time Manitoba has welcomed the event; it was previously hosted in Portage la Prairie (2015), Dauphin (2010), Flin Flon (2001), Winnipeg (1973 and 1992) and Brandon (1973).

The Portage Terriers have appeared at Canada’s National Junior A Championship five times (1973, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2015) and have captured the national title twice. The Terriers most recently won in 2015 when Portage la Prairie first hosted the event, and claimed their first national championship in 1973 when Brandon and Winnipeg welcomed the championship to the province for the first time.

“The City of Portage la Prairie has proven to be an excellent host for Canada’s National Junior A Championship, and the Portage Terriers are proven competitors in the national championship with two titles in franchise history,” said Brent Ladds, president of the Canadian Junior Hockey League. “Based on the success of the event in 2015, fans and teams can expect to be treated to an outstanding experience. We look forward to welcoming Canada’s top Junior A teams and hockey fans back to Portage la Prairie in 2020.”

The 2020 National Junior A Championship will bring together the top Junior A teams from across the country, along with the host Terriers, to face off for the national championship. Historically, the event has generated more than $2 million in local economic impact, with event proceeds being directed to supporting the development of hockey in the local community.

Schedule and ticket information for the 2020 National Junior A Championship will be announced at a later date.

For more information on the 2020 National Junior A Championship, please visit HockeyCanada.ca, or follow along via social media on Facebook or Twitter.