Schedule Announced for AJHL Gas Drive Cup Championship Series

The North Division Champion Spruce Grove Saints and the South Division Champion Drumheller Dragons will meet in the AJHL Gas Drive Cup Championship Series beginning on Friday, April 11th in Spruce Grove, AB.

The Regular Season Champion Spruce Grove Saints survived their second straight Game 7, beating the Fort McMurray Oil Barons 3-2 in overtime on Tuesday to win the North Division title. The Dragons eliminated the defending RBC Cup Champion Brooks Bandits on April 3rd to capture the South Division title and advance to the League Final.

2014 AJHL Gas Drive Cup Championship (best of seven series)

Friday, April 11 @ Spruce Grove 7:00PM

Saturday, April 12 @ Spruce Grove 7:00PM

Monday, April 14 @ Drumheller 7:00PM

Tuesday, April 15 @ Drumheller 7:00PM

*Thursday, April 17 @ Spruce Grove 7:00PM

*Saturday, April 19 @ Drumheller 7:00PM

*Monday, April 21 @ Spruce Grove 7:00PM

* If necessary

Drumheller swept the Calgary Mustangs (3-0) and eliminated the Canmore Eagles (4-1) in the opening rounds of the 2014 AJHL Gas Drive Playoffs to earn a spot in the Division Final.  The Dragons then defeated the Brooks Bandits (4-1) to win the South Division crown.

Spruce Grove earned a first round bye in the North Division for a sixth consecutive season before eliminating the Sherwood Park Crusaders in Game 7 to advance to the North Division Final.  Spruce Grove came back from a 3-1 series deficit to defeat the Fort McMurray Oil Barons and capture the Division title in Game 7.

The Saints and Dragons met only twice in the AJHL Regular Season with the Saints wining both games and outscoring the Dragons 9-3 (October 4/2013, November 3/2013).  Spruce Grove finished the regular season in first place overall with 97 points (47-10-3); Drumheller was third in the South Division with 75 points (35-20-5).   Both teams led their respective division in scoring as the Saints notched 235 goals and the Dragons with 213 goals.

The League Champion will advance to the 2014 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup for a chance to represent the West at the 2014 RBC Cup National Junior A Championship.

The complete 2014 AJHL Gas Drive Cup Playoff Bracket is available here.

Watch each game LIVE on AJHL Web TV and Fast Hockey at and follow the LIVE score updates on the AJHL Mobile Site

Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup
The 2014 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup will be held in Dauphin, MB from April 26 – May 4, 2014.   The champions of the British Columbia Hockey League, Alberta Junior Hockey League, Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League, and Manitoba Junior Hockey League will compete in a five-team tournament with the host Dauphin Kings for the 2014 Western Canada Cup. The Western Canada Cup Champion and the runner-up will both represent western Canada at the RBC Cup National Junior A Championship from May 10 – 18, 2014.