Seven CJHL Alumni Win 2011 Memorial Cup

The Saint John Sea Dogs of the QMJHL posted a 3-1 win over the host Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors to win the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup on Sunday. The championship roster includes seven alumni of the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL).

– Michael Kirkpatrick (Maritime Junior Hockey League)

– Jason Cameron (Maritime Junior Hockey League)

– Ryan Tesink (Maritime Junior Hockey League)

– Spencer MacDonald (Maritime Junior Hockey League)

– Pierre Durepos (Maritime Junior Hockey League)

– Jacob Edwards (Alberta Junior Hockey League / Maritime Junior Hockey League)

In addition to the six players listed above, Sea Dogs Head Coach Gerard Gallant also has CJHL roots. Gerard led the Summerside Capitals to a Kent Cup Championship (MHL) and RBC Cup in 1997 as Head Coach.

The Sea Dogs become the first Maritimes-based team to lift the MasterCard Memorial Cup in the 93-year history of the trophy.