Seven CJHL Alumni Win NCAA Championship

Calgary Alberta – Providence College beat the University of Boston Terriers 4-3 to claim their first NCAA Division I hockey championship.  Former Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) alumni Brandon Tanev (OJHL-BCHL) of Providence College scored the winning goal on CJHL alumni and Boston goalie Matt O’Connor (OJHL) with 6:17 remaining in the game.

The goal proved to be his most important goal of the year and gave the Friars their first national Championship.  Also picking up an assist for the winning team was Shane Luke (MJHL). “It was amazing,” said a happy Tanev. “I couldn’t even register what was going on. It was a heck of a draw win by Kevin Rooney. Steve McParland (OJHL) was able to give me some space and I was able to rip that puck and it went in.”

Providence College becomes college hockey’s third straight first time champions joining Union (2014) and Yale (2013) and the fourth in five years going back to Minnesota Duluth (2011).  In all the 2015 Frozen Four had thirty (30) CJHL alumni competing with the four teams including last year’s CJHL Top Prospect Jake Walman (OJHL) – Providence College and Top NHL Draft pick Brandon Hickey (AJHL) – University of Boston who were both freshmen and important players on their respective teams.

The following are the CJHL Alumni who played on the NCAA Championship Team Providence College:

  • Brooks Behling     OJHL
  • Paul DeJersey       BCHL
  • Shane Luke           MJHL
  • Steve McParland  OJHL
  • Josh Monk             BCHL
  • Brandon Tanev     OJHL – BCHL
  • Jake Walman         OJHL