Blackfalds Bulldogs Bonnyville Pontiacs Brooks Bandits Calgary Canucks Camrose Kodiaks Canmore Eagles Drayton Valley Thunder Drumheller Dragons Fort McMurray Oil Barons Grande Prairie Storm Lloydminster Bobcats Okotoks Oilers Olds Grizzlys Sherwood Park Crusaders Spruce Grove Saints Whitecourt Wolverines

Warriors Capture RBC Cup With Win Over Host Bobcats

LLOYDMINSTER, Alta./Sask. – Matthew Greenfield stopped each and every one of the 48 shots he faced, leading the West Kelowna Warriors to their first RBC Cup championship with a 4-0 win over the host Lloydminster Bobcats on Sunday night.

The Warriors are the first team from British Columbia to win Canada’s National Junior A Championship since the Penticton Vees in 2012, and the 13th ever, extending B.C.’s all-time record.

Lloydminster capped the most successful season in franchise history by becoming just the 11th host team since 1990 to reach the national final; their loss dropped host teams to 5-6 in those appearances.

The 2017 RBC Cup will be held May 13-21 in Cobourg, Ont., with the Cobourg Cougars of the Ontario Junior Hockey League playing host.


Ful Story, Stats and Video