’94 Grizzlys & LeRoy Johnson to be Inducted into AB Hockey Hall of Fame

Hockey Alberta and the Hockey Alberta Foundation announced Thursday the candidates that will be inducted into the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame (AHHF) for 2014.

“This is a special time of year for the AHHF Selection Committee – we have the opportunity to look over and remember the significant contributions to our sport in Alberta, Canada and beyond,” said Scott Robinson, executive director of the Hockey Alberta Foundation. “It’s our honour to recognize these inductees. Their legacies and accomplishments can now take their place Alberta’s hockey history.”

The following four individuals and team were chosen by the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame selection committee to enter the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame in 2014:


  • Bill Moores (Achievement Category)
  • Gord Hira (Builder Category)
  • Jim Fleming (Builder Category)
  • LeRoy Johnson (Builder Category)
  • 1994 Olds Grizzlys (Achievement Category)


These inductees were chosen from nominations based on select criteria. Nominees must have lived in Alberta for at least five years, must have personal and/or professional accomplishments in the game of hockey, must have made an impact in the game beyond a local or regional level and must have received other significant recognitions. Nominations could be made for either an individual or team, active or retired.

The AHHF gallery is located within the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museum in Red Deer. The AHHF gallery is designed to preserve and celebrate Alberta’s hockey history. Items that are on display date back to those first days of Hockey, including old jerseys, autographed photographs and other items. The Hall of Fame maintains legacies of professional and amateur hockey in Alberta for people to enjoy forever.

This year’s inductees will be recognized at the Hockey Alberta Awards Gala taking place on Saturday, June 7, 2014 at the Westin Hotel in Edmonton, Alberta.

For more information on the Hockey Alberta Awards Gala, or to purchase tickets, please click here.