The Calgary Canucks have captured the 2024 Inter Pipeline Cup as Alberta Junior Hockey League Champions, marking their tenth league title in franchise history.  The Canucks defeated the Whitecourt Wolverines 3-2 in game four of the league final to sweep the series on Wednesday night in Calgary, AB.

AJHL Commissioner Ryan Bartoshyk awarded Canucks forward and alternate captain Ty Hipkin (High River, AB) as the 2024 AJHL Playoff MVP.  “Ty has elevated his game in the playoffs as reflected by his scoring total however, that doesn’t show the timeliness of those points, the penalty kills, blocked shots and 200-foot game he has played”, stated Canucks GM / Head Coach Brad Moran. “We are 12-1 with him in the lineup these playoffs. Fortunately for us, and a big reason we won, is we had multiple players step up this post season and on any given night when needed.”

The Calgary Canucks finished the regular season third overall with a record of 31-23-1-2 and 65 points.  Calgary defeated the Grande Prairie Storm in six games to win round one and eliminated the Drumheller Dragons in five games to earn their spot in the league finals.  This was the 13th league final appearance for the storied Calgary Canucks franchise and the first since 1999.

Founded in 1971, the Calgary Canucks are the oldest Alberta Junior Hockey League franchise. The Canucks qualified for the playoffs in 34 consecutive seasons, a streak broken in 2006-07.  The team has 11 regular season titles, ten AJHL championships, two Doyle Cup titles, and one Centennial Cup National Junior A Championship (1995).

The Calgary Canucks will now represent Alberta at the 2024 Centennial Cup presented by Tim Hortons in Oakville. ON from May 9-14, 2024.  Nine Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) champions and a host team make up the field competing for Canada’s 51st National Junior A Championship.