(Spruce Grove, AB) – The Spruce Grove Saints are proud to announce 20-year-old forward Kadyn Chabot has committed to MacEwan University, who are based in Edmonton, Alberta and compete in the Canadian University Sports Canada-West Division.

Chabot was acquired by the Spruce Grove Saints from the Drayton Valley Thunder at the 2023 Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) trade deadline. He made a significant impact on the Saints’ organization, especially on the powerplay, contributing 42 points in the regular season and eight points in the playoffs.

Throughout his junior “A” career, Chabot played a total of 218 games in the AJHL, split between the Drayton Valley Thunder and the Spruce Grove Saints, amassing 222 points. Before his time in the AJHL, he played 23 games in the Western Hockey League (WHL) with the Vancouver Giants. Chabot will be utilizing his WHL Scholarship to enroll in the Bachelor of Science/Computer Technology program at MacEwan University.

Saints General Manager Rob Sklaruk expressed his satisfaction with Chabot’s commitment, saying, “Kadyn did everything asked of him for our team this season, he had an impressive junior hockey career and I’m glad Spruce Grove was his last stop. Chabot was instrumental in getting our team to the league finals. I am very proud of Kadyn and happy to see him continue his hockey career and obtain an education at MacEwan University.”

Chabot, a left-shot forward standing at 6’9″ and weighing 192 pounds, shared his excitement about his commitment to MacEwan University, “I am excited to continue playing hockey and begin my academic studies at MacEwan University. I had an amazing experience playing in the Alberta Junior Hockey League and valued my time in Spruce Grove with the Saints. I am thankful for everyone who has helped me along the way, including my family, billets, coaches and teammates. I am looking forward to starting the next chapter in my life with the Griffins!”

Chabot joins several other players from the Spruce Grove Saints who have committed to post-secondary schools, including Isaac Abbott (Bowdoin College), Brophy Dunne (NAIT), Keifer Miller (Holy Cross), Ewan McPherson (American International College), Morgan Brady (Arizona State), Luigi Benincasa (Ferris State), Liam Watkins (Nebraska-Omaha), Breck McKinley (Bowling Green), Alexander Babich (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), Carter Oakenfold (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), and Brandon Spaulding (Holy Cross).

The Spruce Grove Saints had a successful season, setting a new franchise record for wins on home ice and accumulating over 100 points in the regular season for the first time in the Silent Ice Sports & Entertainment ownership era. They also secured a first-round playoff bye and went on to become the 2023 North Division Champions by defeating the Sherwood Park Crusaders and Bonnyville Pontiacs.

For those interested, early bird pricing for the 2023-2024 season tickets is available until May 31st, 2023, and can be purchased at tickets.sprucegrovesaints.ca.