League Schedule Announced in Anticipation of 2020-2021 AJHL Season

The Alberta Junior Hockey League announced its schedule for the 2020-21 AJHL Regular Season today.  The League is preparing to begin its 57th season in September should provincial health regulations allow.

The AJHL will consist of 15 teams in the 2020-21 season, which increases to 16 teams with the addition of the Blackfalds Bulldogs in 2021-22.  Teams are scheduled to play 58 games in the new modified regular season format, including one game versus each opponent from the opposite division and two games at the AJHL Showcase.  The schedule has been created to remove pre-determined blocks of games should the season start be delayed. 

A schedule for the 2020 AJHL Exhibition Season will be determined and announced in August 2020.

The 14th Annual AJHL Showcase, originally scheduled for September 24th ? 26th, 2020 in Camrose, Alberta, has been tentatively rescheduled to January 5th-7th, 2021.  The 15-game event would include each team playing two regular season games apiece in front of fans, coaches and scouts from across North America.  Pre-Registration for the scouting community and event details including tickets and volunteer opportunities will be available at AJHL.ca.

Seven AJHL Teams will partner with local schools to host ?Hockey Hooky Games? throughout the season.  Students will experience an afternoon of hockey with the Drumheller Dragons (February 10th), Brooks Bandits (December 9th), Camrose Kodiaks (January 19th), Canmore Eagles (February 10th), Drayton Valley Thunder (February 23rd), Grande Prairie Storm (February 3rd) and Okotoks Oilers (February 9th).

With several games scheduled on holiday dates, AJHL teams are inviting fans to spend the holidays enjoying AJHL hockey!  The Brooks Bandits and Fort McMurray Oil Barons will both host games on Thanksgiving Monday; the Whitecourt Wolverines and Brooks Bandits will also host Remembrance Day games.  The Camrose Kodiaks and Canmore Eagles will celebrate the arrival of 2021 with New Year?s Eve games versus the Calgary Canucks and Olds Grizzlys respectively.  The AJHL will also host six games on Family Day in February 2021!

The 2021 Inter Pipeline AJHL Playoffs begin Friday, March 5th and will follow the same format as the 2020 AJHL Playoffs:   

  • North Division – Top 7 teams qualify (1st place receives a Bye, 2 vs 7, 3 vs 6, 4 vs 5)
  • South Division – Top 6 teams qualify (1st & 2nd place receive a Bye, 3 vs 6, 4 vs 5)

The Viterra AJHL South Division and Viterra AJHL North Division will playoff to determine a divisional champion at the conclusion of Round Three.  The North Division Champion and the South Division Champion will then compete in the Inter Pipeline Cup Final.

Plans for the 2021 Doyle Cup and 2021 Centennial Cup will be determined at a later date. 

A complete League Schedule is now available on the AJHL Website AJHL.ca. The AJHL schedule can be exported to calendars and mobile devices through the Schedule Page on the AJHL website.