Oilers Nic Renyard Wins 2015 CJHL Top Goaltender Award

CALGARY, Alberta – The Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL) today announced the winners of five CJHL National Awards.  The CJHL National Awards are awarded each season and recognize individual success in the 10 Junior A leagues in the CJHL.  They include Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Top Defenceman, Top Goaltender and Rookie of the Year.                                                                                                                                                                                                     

The winner of the 2015 CJHL MVP Award and the 2015 CJHL Top Forward Award is Corey Mackin of the Coquitlam Express (BCHL).

Corey Mackin, Coquitlam Express, BCHL (58GP, 50G – 54A – 104PTS) – Corey Mackin played 58 games and registered 50 goals, 54 Assists and 104 total points during the regular season.  Mackin became the first BCHL player in five seasons to reach the 50-goal mark and led the league with nine shorthanded tallies. He took the league’s Brett Hull award as top scorer and also was voted league MVP by the coaches. Mackin was assessed just four minor penalties on the season and was a finalist for the BCHL’s most sportsmanlike player. He has one more year of Junior A eligibility and is committed to NCAA’s Ferris State University.

The winner of the 2015 CJHL Top Defenseman Award is Eric Williams of the Aurora Tigers (OJHL).

Eric Williams, Aurora Tigers, OJHL (52GP, 22G – 28A – 50PTS) – Williams becomes just the third defenceman in franchise history to win the league's Top Defenceman Award.  Williams led all OJHL rearguards with 22 goals on the season, which was the eighth best goal total by a defenceman in league history.  The Newmarket, Ontario native tallied 17 power play goals, not only leading defenceman in that category, but also finishing second among all OJHL skaters.  He added 11 power play assists and was the top blueliner with 28 power play points, also tied for second best among all players in the league.  The OJHL 1st Team All-Star finished second in scoring among rearguards with 50 points, as well as with three game-winning goals, in 52 regular season games played.   Williams' efforts throughout the 2014-15 season earned a second consecutive appearance at the Central Canada Cup All-Star Challenge, earning a spot on Team OJHL Coffey for the 2014 event in Toronto, where he would tie for the tournament lead in scoring among defencemen with four points in three games played.   Williams is slated to join the NCAA Division I, Northeastern University Huskies beginning with the 2015-16 Hockey East season.

The winner of the 2015 CJHL Top Goaltender Award is Nic Renyard of the Okotoks Oilers (AJHL).

Nic Renyard, Okotoks Oilers, AJHL (43 GP, 30 W – 3 L – 8 T – 2.19 GAA – .924 S% – 5 SO) – Okotoks Oilers goaltender Nic Renyard was the 2014-2015 AJHL Most Valuable Player and Top Goaltender.  The 20 year-old goaltender is wrapping up a record setting regular season for the Oilers and led all AJHL goaltenders in the areas of wins and save percentage.  Renyard set a new franchise record for most shutouts and set the single season franchise record for lowest goals against average as well.  The Victoria, BC goaltender joined the Oilers from the BCHL in September 2014 and kicked off the season by recording 13 games without a regulation loss (12-0-1).  Throughout the season, Nic amassed two 7+ game winning streaks.  Renyard was the recipient of the Viterra AJHL Player of the Game five times, and was also named as the Alberta Dodge Dealers AJHL Player of the Month in October 2014 when he posted a 8-0 record.  Renyard has committed to the University of Massachusetts Minutemen of the NCAA Division I Hockey East Conference.

The winner of the 2015 CJHL Rookie of the Year Award is Cameron Morrison of the Aurora Tigers (OJHL).

Cameron Morrison, Aurora Tigers, OJHL (57GP, 16G – 23A – 39PTS) – A highly recruited minor midget prospect in 2013-14, the 16-year old chose the OJHL route and NCAA option in joining his hometown Aurora Tigers for his rookie junior season.  Morrison did not disappoint and the big, strong winger used his 6'3″ frame to dominate the opposition at times, despite his young age, and became the youngest player (16 years, 7 months) to capture the Rookie-of-the-Year Award since Josh Shalla (16 years, 6 months) of the Bowmanville Eagles won East Division honours in 2007-08.    Despite missing time due to appendicitis in early November, his 31 goals not only led the Tigers, but was the sixth best total among all OJHL players, while his 53 points placed him fourth in scoring on the club during the regular season. Morrison notched eight power play goals, third best on Aurora, as well as seven game-winning goals, which tied for second best total in the OJHL. Throughout the year, Morrison would post 13 multi-point games. Following the season, Morrison was also named an OJHL 1st Team All-Prospect and he is committed to join the University of Notre Dame Fighting Irish beginning with the 2016-17 Hockey East season.

Each of the 10 leagues in the CJHL submitted a candidate for all of the CJHL National Awards.  Each league then ranked their top five players from among the 10 national nominees and the five players with the highest point total moved on as finalists to the final round of voting.  The winners were then selected by a second and final point-based vote cast from all 10 leagues.