Six AJHL Players on 2012 NHL Draft Watch List

NHL Central Scouting recently revealed the 2012 NHL Entry Draft Watch List, which included 6 Alberta Junior Hockey League players and 22 Canadian Junior Hockey League players.

Sherwood Park Crusaders Matt Tomkins is the sole goaltender on the list. He is joined by five AJHL skaters:

  • Matthew Benning, Spruce Grove Saints
  • Ryan Berlin, St. Albert Steel
  • Rhett Holland, Okotoks Oilers
  • Chase McMurphy, Calgary Mustangs
  • Peter Quenneville, Sherwood Park Crusaders

The 2012 NHL Entry Draft Watch List includes players from the following CJHL Leagues:

  • British Columbia Hockey League: 8 players
  • Alberta Junior Hockey League: 6 players
  • Manitoba Junior Hockey League: 2 players
  • Central Canada Hockey League: 1 player
  • Ontario Junior Hockey League: 5 players

View complete list

Seven players from the Canadian Junior Hockey League were selected in the 2011 NHL Entry Draft in Minnesota. Kyle Turris of the BCHL’s Burnaby Express was selected 3rd overall in the 2007 NHL Entry Draft by the Phoenix Coyotes and remains the highest ever selection from the CJHL.

NHL Central Scouting will release its mid-term ranking report in January 2012 and final rankings in April 2012. The 2012 NHL Entry Draft will take place on June 22 at Consol Energy Center in Pittsburgh.