Spruce Grove Saints Capture Regular Season Title

The Spruce Grove Saints are the winners of the Dave Duchak Trophy as the 2013-2014 AJHL Regular Season Champions with a record of 47-10-3 and 97 points.  The Saints have captured the regular season title four times in the last six years.

Spruce Grove held a spot amongst the top of the AJHL Standings all year and were ranked as #1 in the CJHL Top 20 Weekly Rankings multiple times throughout the final months of the regular season.  The Saints led the AJHL in Wins (47), Goals For (235), Goal Differential (+100) and Win Percentage (.808%).

Saints General Manager and Head Coach Jason McKee was recently selected as the 2013-2014 AJHL Coach of the Year.  In total, four members of the 2013-2014 Spruce Grove Saints were finalists for the AJHL League Awards.  Four current players on the Saints roster have accepted NCAA scholarships for the 2014-2015 season and beyond. 

By securing 1st place in the North Division, the Saints have guaranteed themselves a first round bye in the 2014 AJHL Gas Drive Playoffs. 

Dave Duchak Trophy (10 year history)

  • 2004-2005 — Camrose Kodiaks (48 wins, 8 losses, 8 ties)
  • 2005-2006 — Fort McMurray Oil Barons (40 wins, 14 losses, 2 ties, 4 overtime losses)
  • 2006-2007 — Fort Saskatchewan Traders (45 wins, 11 losses, 0 ties, 4 overtime losses)
  • 2007-2008 — Camrose Kodiaks (49 wins, 8 losses, 0 ties, 5 overtime losses)
  • 2008-2009 — Spruce Grove Saints (46 wins, 7 losses, 4 ties, 5 overtime losses)
  • 2009-2010 – Spruce Grove Saints (52 wins, 4 losses, 1 tie, 3 overtime losses)
  • 2010-2011 – Spruce Grove Saints (48 wins, 8 losses, 4 overtime losses)
  • 2011-2012 – Brooks Bandits (47wins, 7 losses, 6 overtime losses)
  • 2012-2013 – Brooks Bandits (53 wins, 4 losses, 3 overtime losses)
  • 2013-2014 – Spruce Grove Saints (47 wins, 10 losses, 3 overtime losses)

David Duchak was the first Commissioner of the Alberta Junior Hockey League.  Hockey Alberta and the Hockey Alberta Foundation  inducted David Duchak into the Alberta Hockey Hall of Fame in 2009. 

A complete 2014 AJHL Gas Drive Cup Playoff Schedule will soon be available on the AJHL website.   The Round One Divisional Best of Five Series will begin on March 5th & 6th.  The top seven teams in each division qualify for the AJHL Playoffs with the highest ranked seed awarded home ice advantage.  Round Two will commence on Friday, March 14th. 

Watch each game of the 2014 AJHL Gas Drive Playoffs LIVE on AJHL Web TV at www.AJHL.ca.